Adjusting supply and demand for an electrical balance

Adjusting electrical supply and demand

Article by Ayoub El Bouhali, studying at mS. Optimization of energy systems at the Paris School of Mines. To view the school's review, Click here.  

A multi-term exercise:

Electricity is a convenience that is not stored on a large scale. Thus, the supply-demand balance is to be satisfied at alltimes. It is RTE, the manager of the transport network, which is in charge under Article L. 321-10 [1] of the energy code of this mission with all the time scales it involves. Indeed, the mastery of the supply-demand balance, for a D-Day, begins with theforecasting exercise that RTE to anticipate well in advance investments (capabilities, interconnections, etc.) to meet demand on the same day. This forecast year is updated regularly until the day before the delivery day.

In parallel to RTE's activity, market participants are encouraged,through a system of spread-by penalties, to balance their contractual is equipped in advance (injection or drawing responsibilities). In this context, they are named in Article L. 321-15 [1] of the energy code "balance-responsible." To fulfill their mission, balance managers source themselves at different maturities on the electricity markets. Three years before the delivery day, they can already trade in futures markets (derivative markets) various physical and financial products (futures, forwards, swaps, etc.), and balance their portfolio closely. On the day of delivery, balance managers are able to balance themselves in the sub-daily market up to five minutes before delivery [2].

Beyond that, the network manager has complete control over supply and demand balance. On this beach it appeals in case of imbalances between supply and demand three types of reserves: Primary, secondary And tertiary era ; to restore the frequency to its face value of 50 Hz.

The different deadlines involved in electrical balance

Frequency adjustment and supply-demand balance, what relationship?

The electric transport network is mesh at Europeanlevel. For its proper operation, there is a common obligation for all production groups in the European plate to run their alternators at the same speed. This is called synchronization of alternators.

Frequency is nothing more than the number of cycles that the electrical wavelength makes. For an alternator, it corresponds to the number of turns per second of the rotor multiplied by the number of electromagnets in the stator, which will be noted. Thus, the frequency is expressed according to the speed of rotation of the tree (rad/S) as follows:

Alternate frequency formula - electric balance

The result is this equation (1) and the synchronicity hypothesis, which the electric wavelength has the same frequency throughout the Europeanplate.

In its operation, the alternator receives mechanical power (W) which creates an engine torque on the tree (N.m). The relative movement of the rotor in relation to the stator induces an alternating current in the coil of the stator and thus an electrical force (Laplace force) which in turn applies an electric torque opposing the engine torque.

In the case of no losses (simplifying hypothesis) the principle, preservation of the kinetic moment applied to the rotor, in addition to the relationship (1) give the following equation:

formula for electric balance

Where (kg m2 s'1) is the moment of inertia of the rotor and (W) electrical power. According to (2), to balance when the injected mechanical power (production) equalizes the electrical power extracted (consumption) the acceleration of the engine shaft is zero and the frequency is stable. On the other hand, when consumption is higher than production, the alternator tree slows down and the frequency of the electrical wavelength decreases and vice versa if production is higher than consumption.

Note that according to (1) and (2) and the assumption of synchronization of alternators, the network manager can simply monitor and frequency to track in real time the supply-demand balance.

What happens if the frequency deviates?

We saw in the previous section that frequency control is intimately linked to the balance between production andconsumption. gold the latter fluctuates continuously ; production cannot follow it instantly, to avoid variations in frequency. So there is a range in which these variations are eligible. In metropolitan France, this range is 50 Hz - 0.5Hz. From 49 Hz, automatic discharges of consumption occur;  and beyond a few Hz production groups separate from the network to avoid being damaged [3]. It is a cascading phenomenon that quickly leads to the collapse of the frequency.

Fortunately, this phenomenon remains very rare, as the network manager reacts in real time to the deviation of frequency through systemservices. The latter are composed of two reserves, the primary and secondary reserves, which operate at different time and power scales.

The primary reserve (Frequency Containment Reserve) is automatically activated (down or up) in 15 to 30 seconds to maintain the frequency within its allowable range. It is sized at European level at 3000MW, to compensate for the simultaneous loss of the two largest production groups present on the European plate. France contributes 540 MW [4] . Since 1 January 2017, the primary reserve has been contracted by weekly tenders, jointly organised by RTE and its German, Austrian, Belgian, Dutch and Swiss counterparts.

The activation of the primary reserve restores frequency stability, but is generally not sufficient to reach the targeted 50 Hz. Thus, the country's automatic Frequency Resortion Reserve automatically activates (up or down) in less than 15 minutes to restore the frequency to its facevalue. Unlike the primary reserve, the secondary reserve is therefore national and is sized in France between 500 MW and 1180 MW, depending on the time slot and the time of year. All producers operating production groups of more than 120 MW are obligedto allocate part of their power to it.

The tertiary reserve and the adjustment mechanism

To maintain the balance between supply and demand, the network manager uses another power reserve that is not referred to as a "system service," the Manual Frequency Restoration Reserve. Unlike system services, this reserve is manually activated by a dispatcher to supplement the secondary reserve if it is insufficient.

The tertiary reserve is formed through the adjustmentmechanism. Introduced since 2003 [5], this mechanism requires all producers connected to the transport network to provide RTE with their power not technically used (power not used but which is technically mobile) on the market. adjustment: a single-buyer market (TEN) that takes place 2 hours before delivery and in which consumers, producers connected to the distribution network and foreign players can voluntarily participate. In the two previous cases, it is referred to as an uncontracted tertiary reserve. Understood, there is a part of the so-called contracted tertiary reserve.

Indeed, to ensure the availability of sufficient reserves in the adjustment market, RTE contracts annually through tenders with producers (or erasers)to provide it with capabilities on the market. [6], [7]. Depending on the response time of these capacities, there are two types of reserves: fast reserves, which can be mobilized in less than 13 minutes, and complementary reserves that can be mobilized in less than 30 minutes. The winners of the tender are paid for their abilities over the entire duration of the contract (fixed premium) and their energy paid only in the case of activation (variable premium).

When activating an adjustment offer (contractualized or not), the network manager is required under Article L.321-10 of the Energy Code [1] to take into account "the economic order of precedence between the adjustment proposals submissive." The energy of the activated adjustment offers is settled on the basis of the price of the offer formulated by the adjustmentactor.

article on electrical balance - blog NextFlex

The kinetic reserve and the role of inertia

Electricity is mainly produced by technologies, which involve alternators at the end of the production line. The latter constitute rotating masses, sometimes tens of tons, and therefore a very important deposit of inertia for the electrical system.

Note that according to the equation (2) the temporal variation in frequency is all the slower as the inertia is large. We are talking about a stabilizing effect of inertia, which naturally opposes the slowing or acceleration of trees in the means of production and thus deviations in frequency, which limits the need for balancing.

Moreover, the rotating masses of the means of production act physically as steering wheels of inertia. They store the rotational kinetic energy (proportionate to the inertia and square of the rotational speed) and immediately return it to the grid, by electromagnetic coupling, in the event of a transient drop in frequency. This is called a kinetic reserve.

The kinetic reserve is essential for the instantaneous stability of thenetwork, if it is not sufficient, the electrical system may collapse before the other reserves can be activated [8]. A major shift to means of production without rotating masses, such as photovoltaic solar, must be accompanied by technical, regulatory and commercial devices to preserve the stability of the electrical system.

change in frequency following 2800 MW production incident - electrical balance
bibliography
[1] "Energy Code Legifrance." [Online]. Available on: https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichCode.do?cidTexte=LEGITEXT000023983208. [Consulted: 15-May-2019].

[2] "EPEX SPOT SE: France." [Online]. Available on: https://www.epexspot.com/en/product-info/intradaycontinuous/france. [Consulted: 01-May-2019].

[3] RTE, "How to offloading between RTE and Distributors," 2008.

[4] "System services and adjustment mechanism." [Online]. Available on: https://www.cre.fr/Electricite/Reseaux-d-electricite/Services-systeme-et-mecanisme-d-ajustement. [Consulted: 15-May-2019].

[5] "Adjustment Market," RTEFrance, 15-Sept-2014. [Online]. Available on: https://www.rte-france.com/fr/article/marche-d-ajustement. [Consulted: 15-May-2019].

[6] RTE, "Charge Book," 2019.

[7] CRE, Deliberation of the Energy Regulatory Commission of 21 June 2018 approving the terms of the 2019 tender for rapid and complementary reserves. 2018.

[8] Mr. Drouineau, "Forward-looking modeling and spatial-temporal analysis: integration of electrical grid dynamics," 2011.

[9] "Implement all levers to ensure balance," RTE France, 15-sept-2014. [Online]. Available on: https://www.rte-france.com/fr/article/mettre-en-oeuvre-tous-les-leviers-pour-assurer-l-equilibre. [Consulted: 15-May-2019].
f-p-/2 - electric balance blog article NextFlex

Share this article

Social Network logo linkedIn Black          Social Network logo Twitter black

Ajustement de l’offre et la demande pour un équilibre électrique

Ajustement de l’offre et la demande électriques

Article réalisé par Ayoub El Bouhali, étudiant au MS. Optimisation des systèmes énergétiques à l’école des Mines de Paris. Pour consulter la revue de l’école, cliquez-ici.  

Un exercice à plusieurs échéances :

L’électricité est une commodité qui ne se stocke pas à grande échelle. Ainsi, l’équilibre offre-demande est à satisfaire à tout instant. C’est RTE, le gestionnaire du réseau de transport, qui est en charge au titre de l’article L. 321-10 [1] du code de l’énergie de cette mission avec toutes les échelles de temps qu’elle implique. En effet, la maîtrise de l’équilibre offre-demande, pour un jour J, commence par l’exercice prévisionnel que RTE réalise pour anticiper longtemps à l’avance les investissements à réaliser (capacités, interconnections etc.) pour satisfaire la demande au jour même. Cet exercice prévisionnel est actualisé régulièrement jusqu’à la veille du jour de livraison.

En parallèle à l’activité de RTE, les acteurs de marchés sont incités, par un système de pénalités de règlement d’écarts, à équilibrer en avance leurs périmètres contractualisés (responsabilités d’injection ou de soutirage). Dans ce contexte, ils sont nommés dans l’article L. 321-15 [1] du code d’énergie « responsables d’équilibres ». Pour remplir leur mission, les responsables d’équilibres s’approvisionnent à différentes échéances sur les marchés d’électricité. Trois ans avant le jour de livraison, ils peuvent déjà échanger sur des marchés à terme (marchés de dérivés) différents produits physiques et financiers (futures, forwards, swaps, etc.), et équilibrer de proche en proche leur portefeuille. Le jour même de la livraison, les responsables d’équilibres sont en mesure de s’équilibrer sur le marché infra-journalier jusqu’à cinq minutes avant la livraison [2].

Au-delà, le gestionnaire de réseau a complètement la main sur l’équilibrage de l’offre et la demande. Sur cette plage il fait appel en cas de déséquilibres entre l’offre et la demande à trois types de réserves : primaire, secondaire et tertiaire ; pour rétablir la fréquence à sa valeur nominale de 50 Hz.

Les différentes échéances impliquées dans équilibre électrique

Réglage de la fréquence et équilibre offre-demande, quelle relation ?

Le réseau de transport électrique est maillé au niveau européen. Pour son bon fonctionnement, il existe une obligation commune à tous les groupes de production dans la plaque européenne, de faire tourner leurs alternateurs à la même vitesse. C’est ce qu’on appelle le synchronisme des alternateurs.

La fréquence n’est rien d’autre que le nombre de cycles que fait l’onde électrique. Pour un alternateur, elle correspond au nombre de tours par seconde du rotor multiplié par le nombre d’électro-aimants dans le stator, qu’on notera. Ainsi, la fréquence s’exprime en fonction de la vitesse de rotation de l’arbre Ω (rad/S) comme suit :

Formule fréquence alternateur - équilibre électrique

Il en résulte de cette équation (1) et de l’hypothèse de synchronisme, que l’onde électrique a la même fréquence dans toute la plaque européenne.

Dans son fonctionnement, l’alternateur reçoit une puissance mécanique  (W) qui crée un couple moteur sur l’arbre  (N.m). Le mouvement relatif du rotor par rapport au stator induit un courant alternatif dans le bobinage du stator et donc une force électrique (force de Laplace) qui à son tour applique un couple électrique  s’opposant au couple moteur.

Dans l’hypothèse d’absence de pertes (hypothèse simplificatrice) le principe, de conservation du moment cinétique appliqué au rotor, en plus de la relation (1) donnent l’équation suivante :

formule pour l' équilibre électrique

Où  (kg m2 s−1) est le moment d’inertie du rotor et  (W) la puissance électrique. D’après (2), à l’équilibre quand la puissance mécanique injectée (production) égalise la puissance électrique soutirée (consommation) l’accélération de l’arbre moteur est nulle et la fréquence est stable. En revanche, quand la consommation est supérieure à la production, l’arbre de l’alternateur se met à ralentir et la fréquence de l’onde électrique à baisser et inversement si la production est supérieure à la consommation.

Notons que d’après (1) et (2) et l’hypothèse de synchronisme des alternateurs, le gestionnaire de réseau peut se contenter de surveiller et la fréquence pour suivre en temps réel l’équilibre offre-demande.

Que se passe-t-il en cas de déviations de la fréquence ?

Nous avons vu dans la section précédente que la maîtrise de la fréquence est intimement liée à la l’équilibre entre la production et la consommation. Or, cette dernière fluctue en permanence ; la production ne peut la suivre instantanément, pour éviter les variations de la fréquence. Ainsi il existe une plage dans laquelle ces variations sont admissibles. En France métropolitaine, cette plage est de 50 Hz ± 0.5Hz. A partir de 49 Hz, des délestages automatiques de la consommation surviennent;  et au-delà de quelques Hz les groupes de productions se séparent du réseau pour éviter d’être endommagés [3]. C’est un phénomène en cascade qui mène rapidement à l’écroulement de la fréquence.

Heureusement, ce phénomène reste très rare, car le gestionnaire de réseau réagit en temps réel à la déviation de la fréquence grâce aux services système. Ces derniers sont composés de deux réserves, à savoir la réserve primaire et secondaire, qui interviennent à des échelles de temps et de puissance différentes.

La réserve primaire (Frequency Containment Reserve) est activée automatiquement (à la baisse ou à la hausse) en 15 à 30 secondes, pour maintenir la fréquence dans sa plage admissible. Elle est dimensionnée au niveau européen à 3000 MW, pour pouvoir compenser la perte simultanée des deux plus gros groupes de production  présents sur la plaque européenne. La France y contribue  à hauteur de 540 MW [4] . Depuis le 1er  janvier 2017, la réserve primaire est contractualisée par des appels d’offres hebdomadaires, organisés conjointement par RTE et ses homologues allemands, autrichiens, belges, néerlandais et suisses.

L’activation de la réserve primaire rétablit la stabilité de la fréquence, mais n’est pas en général suffisante pour atteindre les 50 Hz ciblés. Ainsi, la réserve secondaire (Automatic Frequency Resortion Reserve) du pays en déséquilibre s’active automatiquement (à la hausse ou à la baisse), en moins de 15 min, pour rétablir la fréquence à sa valeur nominale. Contrairement à la réserve primaire, la réserve  secondaire est donc nationale et elle est dimensionnée en France entre 500 MW et 1180 MW, selon la plage horaire et la période de l’année. Tous les producteurs opérant des groupes de production de plus de 120 MW ont l’obligation  de lui affecter une partie de leur puissance.

La réserve tertiaire et le mécanisme d’ajustement

Pour maintenir l’équilibre entre l’offre et la demande, le gestionnaire de réseau utilise une autre réserve de puissance qui n’est pas qualifiée de « service système », il s’agit de la réserve tertiaire (Manual Frequency Restoration Reserve). Contrairement aux services système, cette réserve est activée manuellement par un dispatcher pour compléter la réserve secondaire si celle-ci est insuffisante.

La réserve tertiaire est constituée à travers le mécanisme d’ajustement. Mis en place depuis 2003 [5], ce mécanisme oblige tous les producteurs raccordés au réseau de transport de mettre à disposition de RTE leur puissance non utilisée techniquement (puissance non utilisée mais qui est mobilisable techniquement) sur le marché d’ajustement : un marché à acheteur unique (RTE) qui a lieu 2h avant la livraison et auquel les consommateurs, les producteurs raccordés au réseau de distribution et les acteurs étrangers peuvent participer volontairement. Dans les deux cas précédents, on parle de réserve tertiaire non contractualisée. Sous-entendu, il existe une partie de la réserve tertiaire dite contractualisée.

En effet, pour s’assurer de la disponibilité de réserves suffisantes sur le marché d’ajustement, RTE contractualise annuellement via des appels d’offres avec des producteurs (ou effaceurs), pour mettre à sa disposition des capacités sur le marché d’ajustement [6], [7]. Selon le temps de réponse de ces capacités, on distingue deux types de réserves : les réserves rapides, mobilisables en moins de 13 min, et les réserves complémentaires mobilisables en moins de 30 min. Les lauréats de l’appel d’offres voient leurs capacités rémunérées sur toute la durée de contrat (prime fixe) et leur énergie rémunérée qu’en cas d’activation (prime variable).

Lorsqu’il active une offre d’ajustement (contractualisée ou non), le gestionnaire de réseau est tenu au titre de l’article L.321-10 du code de l’énergie [1] de prendre en compte « l’ordre de préséance économique entre les propositions d’ajustement qui lui sont soumises ». L’énergie des offres d’ajustement activées est réglée sur la base du prix de l’offre formulée par l’acteur d’ajustement.

article sur l' équilibre électrique - blog NextFlex

Le réserve cinétique et le rôle de l’inertie

L’électricité est majoritairement produite par des technologies, qui impliquent des alternateurs à la fin de la chaîne de production. Ces derniers constituent des masses tournantes, de plusieurs dizaines de tonnes parfois, et donc un gisement d’inertie très important pour le système électrique.

Notons que d’après l’équation (2) la variation temporelle de la fréquence est d’autant plus lente que l’inertie  est grande. On parle d’un effet stabilisateur de l’inertie, qui s’oppose naturellement au ralentissement ou à l’accélération des arbres des moyens de production et donc aux déviations de la fréquence, ce qui limite les besoins en équilibrage.

Par ailleurs, les masses tournantes des moyens de production agissent physiquement comme des volants d’inertie. Elles stockent l’énergie cinétique de rotation (proportionnelle à l’inertie et au carré de la vitesse de rotation) et la restituent immédiatement au réseau, par couplage électromagnétique, en cas de chute transitoire de fréquence. On parle ainsi d’une réserve cinétique.

La réserve cinétique est indispensable à la stabilité instantanée du réseau, si elle n’est pas suffisante, le système électrique risque de s’effondrer avant que les autres réserves puissent être activées [8]. Un basculement important vers des moyens de production sans masses tournantes, comme le solaire photovoltaïque, doit être accompagnée par des dispositifs techniques, réglementaires et commerciaux pour préserver la stabilité du système électrique.

évolution de la fréquence suite à incident de production de 2800 MW - équilibre électrique
Bibliographie
[1]          « Code de l’énergie | Legifrance ». [En ligne]. Disponible sur: https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/affichCode.do?cidTexte=LEGITEXT000023983208. [Consulté le: 15-mai-2019].

[2]          « EPEX SPOT SE: France ». [En ligne]. Disponible sur: https://www.epexspot.com/en/product-info/intradaycontinuous/france. [Consulté le: 01-mai-2019].

[3]          RTE, « Modalités de délestage entre RTE et les Distributeurs », 2008.

[4]          « Services système et mécanisme d’ajustement ». [En ligne]. Disponible sur: https://www.cre.fr/Electricite/Reseaux-d-electricite/Services-systeme-et-mecanisme-d-ajustement. [Consulté le: 15-mai-2019].

[5]          « Marché d’ajustement », RTE France, 15-sept-2014. [En ligne]. Disponible sur: https://www.rte-france.com/fr/article/marche-d-ajustement. [Consulté le: 15-mai-2019].

[6]          RTE, « Cahier de Charges », 2019.

[7]          CRE, Délibération de la Commission de régulation de l’énergie du 21 juin 2018 portant approbation des modalités de l’appel d’offres 2019 de réserves rapide et complémentaire. 2018.

[8]          M. Drouineau, « Modélisation prospective et analyse spatio-temporelle: intégration de la dynamique du réseau électrique », 2011.

[9]          « Mettre en œuvre tous les leviers pour assurer l’équilibre », RTE France, 15-sept-2014. [En ligne]. Disponible sur: https://www.rte-france.com/fr/article/mettre-en-oeuvre-tous-les-leviers-pour-assurer-l-equilibre. [Consulté le: 15-mai-2019].
f=p×Ω/2π - équilibre électrique article blog NextFlex

Partagez cet article

logo du réseau social linkedIn noir          logo du réseau social twitter noir